Orientation and tutors

Orientation

The studies will start with an orientation programme. In the orientation you will get to know Savonia, your studies, practicalities, and of course the other students in your group. The orientation programme has been especially planned to help you cope with the flow of new information in the beginning of your studies. It is vital that you participate in the orientation day.

Orientation Day for Bachelor’s Degree Students

Studies will start on 31 August 2022 at 10 am Finnish time at Microkatu campus, Kuopio Finland. Students will gather at the entrance hall in building A, 1st floor.

If you have a delay in the residence permit application process and cannot arrive to Finland by 31 August, please inform your tutor teachers. Please note that you must arrive to Finland and start your studies by 10 October 2022. Online studies are not offered.

Teacher tutors

Each degree programme has teacher tutors. Teacher tutors will provide assistance in academic and study related issues especially for degree students from the start of the studies – you will meet them during your Orientation Day.

The teacher tutors for the first study year are:

Teacher tutors are on a summer break starting from June. They are available from 15 August onwards.

Nursing: Ms. Katri Huuskola and Mr. Ernest Aluoch (katri.huuskola@savonia.fi and ernest.aluoch@savonia.fi)

Business: Mr. Abdelazim Hannoura and Ms. Terttu Niskanen (abdelazim.hannoura@savonia.fi and terttu.niskanen@savonia.fi)

IoT: Mr. Tuukka Heiskanen and Ms. Tiina Salli (tuukka.heiskanen@savonia.fi and tiina.salli@savonia.fi)

Mechanical Engineering: Ms. Armi Huopainen and Ms. Tiina salli (armi.huopanen@savonia.fi and tiina.salli@savonia.fi)

Energy Engineering: Mr. Olli-Pekka Kähkönen (olli-pekka.kahkonen@savonia.fi)

International Coordinators

Each study field has an International Coordinator who mainly helps international exchange students in their study related issues such as Learning Agreements.

Student tutors

Savonia Student Union Savotta trains student tutors who will be helping you especially at the beginning of your stay. Your tutor will be contacting you before your arrival and greet you when you arrive to campus. Student tutors are valuable sources of information in questions related to student life at Savonia.